NWSL Schedules Return

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced a unique, new format to return to play in 2020 as they try to salvage the season after COVID-19 threw a wrench in the plans of all sport leagues this year.

The league is hosting the NWSL Challenge Cup for all nine league teams. The Chicago Red Stars are the only Illinois team, but other teams in the league include Houston Dash, OL Reign, Sky Blue FC, Portland Thorns FC, Washington Spirit, Utah Royals FC, North Carolina Courage and Orlando Pride.

The teams will compete in a 25-game tournament scheduled to kick off June 27 at Zions Bank Stadium in Harriman, Utah. Like NASCAR and other sports events that have resumed action around the world recently, there will be no fans in attendance. While fans can’t watch in person, they can watch games on CBS All-Access, the online streaming service for CBS.


Join our Mailing List Today!

 Receive the latest buzz and insider information around Tar Heel Soccer.